The Why is in the Way

I woke feeling down.

I am a puny excuse for a bodybuilder.

Maybe more a wanna-be than a real competitor.

No platitudes or mantras could get me out of it.

Not the attitude to take to the gym.

But I am habitual (and would feel worse if I just gave up)

I had an upper body workout ahead of me.

I went in feeling like it was a waste of time…for goodness sake, look at me!

But I got on the bench.

The bar felt GREAT.

Weight felt GREAT

Lifting felt GREAT.

When I let my body talk, it had a different story.

It wants to grow.

It likes this TRYING stuff.

And suddenly, I was a happy man.

No bigger than when I left the house.

But fully in my life.


As in my art making, the results are far less important than the process.

The Way is the Why

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑