I could…

This week is the anniversary of my rape. I am approaching it differently this year. I’m blogging pseudo diary entries on the days around it chronicling the events . I have also chosen to celebrate the work I’ve done behind it, the changes I’ve made, the strengths I’ve developed, the depths I’ve attempted to grow.

Everyday I will be writing acknowledgements of my successes. But I haven’t decided on how I will mark the actual night or even if it will be the day after. I may just go for a nice diner with my husband or ice cream with select friends.

Part of me is tempted to make it big and public. A loud proclamation on Facebook! Would other survivors see it and know it’s OK? Isn’t there light on the other side of silence? I could just radiate strength and bravery. I could smash a wall with just by clicking a button.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

